In tennis, there are 3 types of tennis matches :-  Singles, Doubles, Mixed doubles.

Singles – Involves 2 players competing against each other.  The two players are usually 2 men or 2 women.  It uses the inner court line (left and right side) when playing singles.

Doubles – This is played by two teams with each team involving 2 men or 2 women.  So it is usually 2 men/women in a team competing against 2 men/women in another team.It uses the outer court line when playing doubles.  The 2 players on the receiving side will change position after each point is played.

Mixed doubles –  Similar to Doubles except this is played with one man and one woman in each team.

In Singles, the individual receive the most prized money and media attention followed by Doubles.  Mixed doubles usually receive the least monetary award in a tournament.